It’s a wrap!

Lagoon El Jocotal - El Salvador

I know I’ve been MIA for the last month or so. I have no excuses, I purposely did so just trying to soak in everything that was happening during my fellowship. I can’t believe my time in Central America is coming to an end. With that, I am saying my good-byes, and anxiously waiting for the time to board my flight.  I am so grateful for this time, the people I’ve met, and the lessons I’ve learned.

In Costa Rica I got to see a whole different picture from the one I saw in El Salvador. I also learned more about myself and what makes my heart beat faster.  I’ve learned that poverty has many faces, and it comes in many different colors and shades. I’ve also realized the power of human interaction, relationships do move the world at every level regardless of social-economic status. Here in Costa Rica I also realized that I this is the path I want to continue to explore. There is no settling, no going back. I’ve decided to stay put within social impact investing..so much to learn still, but very excited about being part of the future of this sector.

Even though the last few months have been incredibly rewarding, I am eager to get started on my next adventure. I have to thank you, family and friends, for your support all along. I can’t wait to grab a coffee and catch up. I don’t know how to put into words how much your support and confidence in this fellowship means to me.

On the way to Poaz volcano - Costa Rica

Since I started working with Fundacion Campo three months ago in El Salvador they have raised close $94,000 worth of loans.  That translates into 142 entrepreneurs whose projects/financial needs have been supported through Kiva. The average loan size is about $660, and it takes less than 10 days to fundraise on the site. I’m pretty proud of those stats! I trained close to 50 people, 4 branches, and visited clients in places where no other institution, other than Fundacion Campo, gets to.

As for Fundacion Mujer, I completed an audit which had been lingering for some time. The audit was crucial for Fundacion Mujer’s relationship with Kiva, as it is one of the ways that Kiva protects both borrowers and lenders. It’s one of the many elements that help make Kiva sustainable from an operational stand-point. I also met many amazing clients, women head of households who face incredible challenges every day to feed their families.

There was much more to my fellowship than those bits above.  But I’ll wait to share the rest in person.

See you all very soon. And once again, thank you!

Andrea

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

